…LACC report shows

By Jerromie S. Walters

Major officials from the National Port Authority, Ministry of Information Culture Affairs and Tourism (MICAT), Liberia National Police (LNP), Ministry of Internal Affairs, and the Ministry of Youth and Sports appear to be reneging to declare their Assets prior to their expected exit as required by law. 

The Liberia Anti-Corruption Commission (LACC), hs published the first listing of appointed exiting Government officials required under Section 10.1 of Liberia’s 2014 Code of Conduct to declare Assets and Personal interest.

So far, At the Ministry of Finance, all 11 persons led by Minister Samuel Tweh were compliant with the mandate of the President while all 7 commissioners of the LACC also were compliant as per the listing.

At the National Port Authority, Managing Director Diana Nebo and Deputy Managing Director Sam Doe have not complied

Also at the Ministry of Information Culture Affairs and Tourism (MICAT), Assistant Ministers Princess Torkolon, David Kolleh, Frank Cooper, Jurah Sanoe, Daniel Thomas, LINA Boss Kwame Weeks,  and Grace Tawo are yet to comply with the mandate.

At the Liberia National Police (LNP), Police Inspector General Patrick Sudue, Deputy Police Boss Prince Mulbah, and Marvin Sackor were labeled to be non-compliant.

Madam Abigail Wesseh is the only Deputy Commissioner General of the Liberia Immigration Service who is non-compliant. 

Moreover, 6 of the 9 ministers at the Ministry of Youth and Sports appointed by President Weah namely Adrian Smith, Isaac Doe, Andy Quamie, Peter Bemah, Emmanuel Johnson, and James Toe have not complied with the mandate.

At the Ministry of Internal Affairs,

Deputy Internal Minister Olayee Collins, Assistant Ministers Hilary Mentoe,  Abubakar Bah, Esiaka Sheriff, and Legal Consultant Losene Bility did not comply with the mandate of the President.

The report shows about 3 of the 15 superintendents including Janjany Baikpeh complied with the mandate.

Section 5.2 (o) of the amended and restated Liberia Anti-Corruption Commission (LACC) Act of 2022 enshrines the responsibility of the LACC in executing Liberia’s Asset Declaration and Verification Regime.

The LACC Act defines the function of the LACC for asset declaration as: “To institute and operate the assets declaration and verification regimes of the Government of Liberia, pursuant to the Code of Conduct Act of 2014”.

Section 5.2 (o)(vi) further provides for LACC to recommend to the Legislature for enactment into law sanction(s) for breach of the Asset Declaration Guidelines. 

Against this backdrop, upon approval by the Legislature, the LACC will collaborate with the Ministry of Finance and Development Planning, Liberia Revenue Authority, Public Procurement and Concession Commission, Liberia Business Registry, National Identity Registry, and other government service providers to impose the following sanctions on Non-Compliant Officials. 

It includes – “Withholding of compensation, including salaries and other bonuses;

• Refusal or denial of government services, such as business registration, tax clearance, passport renewal, national ID card

renewal, among other government provided services;

• No appointment to government positions.”

The LACC has encouraged all public officials including exiting officials who have not yet declared their assets to immediately proceed to the LACC and declare. The LACC says it will continue to revise and publish updated listings at least weekly on their official website, as well as in the print and electronic media. “This is an ongoing exercise; the list will be updated at least weekly until the entire Exit Declaration process is concluded.”