-Rep. Bintu Massalay vows

By Jerromie S. Walters

Following her appointment as House Committee Chair on Youth and Sports and as a member on other strategic committees of the House of Representatives of the 55th legislature, Grand Cape Mount County Electoral District #1, Representative Bintu Massalay has guaranteed her fervent commitment to dye role (S).

In an official statement via her Facebook page an hour after her appointment, the Grand Cape Mount County female lawmaker noted that she will strive to live up to the expectations associated with the post, as she’s enthusiastic about the opportunity to contribute positively to the growth and development of youth and sports in Liberia.

“I am committed to working diligently with my esteemed colleagues in the house to address the diverse needs of our youth and sports community. With Speaker Koffa’s guidance, I am confident that together, we can achieve great things.”

Rep. Massalay: “Rest assured, I will strive to live up to the expectations associated with this important role. I am enthusiastic about the opportunity to contribute positively to the development of youth and sports in our nation. Thank you all for your support, and I look forward to serving you with dedication and passion.”

At the same time, she extended gratification to House Speaker J. Fonati Koffa for appointing her as the Chair on Youth and Sports Committee. “I wholeheartedly express my sincere appreciation for the trust and confidence placed in me,”-she stated.

On Thursday, January 25, 2024, House Speaker J. Fonati Koffa announced the appointment of key committees to further strengthen legislative efforts and governance within the chamber. 

The appointed individuals bring a wealth of experience and expertise to their respective roles, reflecting the commitment to effective and comprehensive representation of the people.

The appointed committees and their respective chairs are as follows:

Ways Means Finance Development, Chair: Dixon Siebo, Judiciary Chair: Hon. Michael Thomas, Public Accounts & Expenditure

Chair: Hon. Clarence Gar, Maritime

Chair: Hon. Frank Saah Foko Jr, Investment & Concession, Chair: P. Mike Jury, Mines & Energy Natural Resource, Chair: Eugene Kollie, Good Governance and Reform, Chair: Foday Fahnbulleh, Hydro Carbon

Chair: Hon. Richard Nagbe Koon, National Security, Chair: Hon. Musa Hassan Bility, Public Works & Rural Development, Chair: Hon. Matthew Joe 

Others are: Agriculture, Forestry & Fisheries, Chair: Zinneh Norman, Health Committee, Chair: Hon. Julie Wiah, State Enterprises, Commissions, and Autonomous Agencies, Chair: Ellen Attoh Wreh, Post & Telecommunications, Chair: Hon. Ivar K. Jones, Youth & Sports, Chair: Representative Bintu Massaley, Commerce & Industry, Chair: Hon. Alex Noah, Committee on Transport, Chair: Hon. Siafa Momo Kpoto, Contracts & Monopolies, Chair: Abu Kamara

Following the appointment, Speaker J. Fonati Koffa expressed confidence in the appointed individuals, stating, “I believe that the appointed committees will play a crucial role in shaping and advancing legislative initiatives that benefit the people we serve. Their dedication and expertise will contribute significantly to the overall development and progress of our nation.” Speaker Koffa averred.

The committees will focus on key areas such as finance, judiciary, natural resources, good governance, national security, and more. The Speaker emphasized the importance of collaboration and collective efforts in achieving the legislative goals set forth by the House of Representatives.

Leave a Comment


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *